17世纪

建于1761年的约翰斯敦大厦(当时被称为)是弗朗西斯-福德上校、他的妻子玛格丽特和他们的五个女儿的乡村住所。 福德上校是唐郡海福德的Coolgraney国会议员马修-福德的第七个儿子,他的家族所在地仍然存在于美丽的海福德村。 海富园.

上校最近从印度非常成功的军事生涯中归来,准备退休后成为一名乡村绅士。 恩菲尔德--或当时的英菲尔德--满足了他回到米斯郡的愿望,他的诺曼-爱尔兰长辈(德拉-福德家族)在13世纪时曾在米斯的福特镇(现在的福特镇)定居。 恩菲尔德也靠近梅努斯的Carton House,那是莱恩斯特公爵的家--当时爱尔兰最强大的地主。

8年后,福尔德上校完成了房子和领地的建设,并从他的地产中获得了收入,他离开了印度,去了另一个军事任命。 他的船 "极光号 "于1769年12月27日抵达南部非洲的好望角,他和这艘船都没有了消息。

19世纪-19世纪

此后,房子被不同的人拥有,包括一个都柏林商人,几个绅士农民,一个骑士,另一个军人,一个国会议员和一个爱尔兰银行的行长。 1927年,普伦德加斯特家族买下了这所房子,罗丝-普伦德加斯特--"罗丝 "私人餐厅就是以她的名字命名的--成为了约翰斯敦别墅的女主人,长达50多年。

2000年代

在新千年的最初几年,这所房子被恢复到以前的辉煌,并围绕它开发了一个新的度假酒店,成为约翰斯敦房子酒店。 2015年,在新的所有权下,酒店进行了广泛的整修、扩建,并重塑品牌,成为约翰斯敦庄园。

blank
WordPress灯箱插件

The 1700s

Built in 1761, The Johnstown House (as it was then known) was the country residence of Colonel Francis Forde, his wife Margaret and their five daughters.  Colonel Forde was the 7th son of Matthew Forde, MP, of Coolgraney, Seaforde County Down, and the family seat is still in existence in the pretty village of Seaforde, hosting Seaforde Gardens.

The Colonel had recently returned from a very successful military career in India and was retiring to become a country gentleman.  Enfield – or Innfield as it was then known –  satisfied his desire to return to County Meath where his Norman-Irish ascendants (the de la Forde family) had settled in Fordestown (now Fordstown), Meath, in the 13th century.  Enfield was also close to Carton House in Maynooth, the home of the Duke of Leinster – at the time the most powerful landowner in Ireland.

After 8 years completing the house and demesne and establishing income from his estates, Colonel Forde left for a further military appointment in India.  His boat, The Aurora, touched the Cape of Good Hope off Southern Africa on December 27th, 1769 and neither he, nor the boat, were heard from again.

The 1800s-1900s

Thereafter the house was owned by a variety of people including a Dublin merchant, several gentlemen farmers, a Knight, another military man, an MP and a Governor of the Bank of Ireland.  In 1927 the Prendergast family bought the house and Rose Prendergast, after whom ‘The Rose’ private dining room is named, became mistress of Johnstown House for over fifty years.

The 2000s

The house was restored to its previous glory in the early years of the new millennium and a new resort hotel developed around it to become The Johnstown House Hotel.  In 2015, under new ownership, the hotel was extensively refurbished, expanded and rebranded to become The Johnstown Estate.

blank
WordPress Lightbox Plugin